Skip to Content

Los Rios Ethnic Studies Faculty Council

The District Academic Senate (DAS) approved the formation of the Los Rios Ethnic Studies Faculty Council on December 15, 2020. The council has been tasked by DAS with creating proposals for the future of ethnic studies programs, degrees, and courses in the district, including recommending courses for CSU Area F approval. Additionally, the council will function as the consultative body for ethnic studies discipline input on equivalency decisions for faculty hiring.


Current Council Membership

One from each college (four total) ethnic studies faculty or faculty who meet minimum qualifications/equivalency requirements:

  • Ricardo Caton (History – American River College)
  • Nym George (Sociology, teaches Ethnic Studies – Cosumnes River College)
  • Tamara Cheshire (Anthropology, taught Ethnic Studies – Folsom Lake College), co-chair
  • Keith Heningburg (History, teaches Ethnic Studies – Sacramento City College), co-chair

One from each college (four total) faculty from a related discipline:

  • Neue Leung (English – American River College)
  • Alex Peshkoff (History – Cosumnes River College)
  • Victoire Chochezi (Communication Studies/Equity Coordinator – Folsom Lake College)
  • Surangi Frazier (History – Sacramento City College), logistical support

One Articulation Officer (AO) representative:

  • Juana Esty (AO/Counselor – Cosumnes River College)

One District Curriculum Coordinating Committee (DCCC) faculty rep:

  • Renee Medina (Curriculum Chair/Math – Sacramento City College)

Adjunct Faculty (up to four, preferably one from each college):

  • Walter Kawamoto – American River College
  • Malika Hollinside – Sacramento City College


  • Co-Chair: Tamara Cheshire, Folsom Lake College
  • Co-Chair: Keith Heningburg, Sacramento City College